Vegan Week + Almond Milk Pudding Recipe

Some of you know that I’m about halfway through my weeklong experiment of eating nothing but plant foods (and fungi). As an ethical vegetarian, I’ve sadly come to the conclusion that eating dairy isn’t morally consistent for me, and while I’m not ready to forswear it for life, I’m interested in seeing what life is like without it. Baby steps.

So far, vegan week has been pretty easy. It helps that I’m mildly lactose intolerant and dairy has always been more of a food flavoring than staple. The only times I’ve even really seen it as a dietary restriction has been with company, and only then with desserts. (I had to turn down bananas foster. Ouch.)

What have I been eating?

  • Thick vegetable & kidney bean chili over crisp potato wedges
  • Miso noodle soup with wild mushrooms, green onions, bok choy, and edamame
  • Spicy pan fried noodles with basil
  • Coconut peanut sauce dip with roti
  • Bell pepper, new potato, and roast garlic pasta
  • Farina with sliced white peaches, brown sugar, and almond milk
  • Avocado and almond milk smoothies
  • Stovetop popcorn with olive oil, sea salt, nutritional yeast, and a dash of garlic
  • PB&J sandwiches

Last night I tried making pudding with almond milk, and I liked it so much that I thought I’d share. I was worried that it wouldn’t set well, but it totally did. And when warmed, almond milk has a marvelously fragrant aroma that makes it perfect in desserts and sweets. (Muffins? Hmm…) Anyway, this is the recipe for a creamy, mild pudding that could well pass for being dairy based:

Vegan Almond Pudding (2 small servings, can be doubled)

  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk, separated
  • 1 1/2 TB white sugar (more if you’re not using sweetened almond milk)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 TB cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp rosewater OR vanilla OR almond extract
  • cinnamon and/or slivered almonds to top

Pour 3/4 cup almond milk into heavy bottomed saucepan. Sprinke sugar and salt over liquid but do not stir. Bring to a boil over medium high. While waiting for milk to boil, mix remaining 1/4 cup almond milk with the cornstarch until fully dissolved. When milk has come to a boil, remove from heat, whisk in cold milk/cornstarch mixture, and return to heat (turn down to low). Stir constantly for 1-2 minutes, or until thickened.  Stir in flavoring. Pour into bowls, allow to cool, and refrigerate until set.  Top with a sprinkle of cinnamon and slivered almonds.

20 responses to this post.

  1. […] I looked for a recipe online to make it from scratch.  I found this recipe that I’ll try this weekend.  It’s bound to be a step up from the last attempt. […]

    Reply

  2. […] finally tried this recipe for pudding and I’m happy to report it set up just fine.  I’ll need to tweak it to suit my own […]

    Reply

  3. This was simple and delicious! Thanks!

    Reply

  4. I’ll be trying this soon. I like that it seems simple. Thanks for sharing it.

    Reply

    • It is simple — corn starch puddings are a lot less temperamental than egg-thickened ones! Feel free to play around with the sugar (I don’t like things very sweet) or to add spices or flavorings. I’d love to know how it turns out for you!

      Reply

  5. Posted by YoungBird on 02/12/2012 at 17:28

    dude if you eat PBnJ thats not a vegan thing, unless you use vegan bread,… bread is made with eggs

    Reply

    • Most breads are actually made without eggs, although if you’re avoiding all animal products, you may want to watch out for milk powder and honey in bread. But many breads contain no animal ingredients, and if you make your own (I do), you can have absolutely certainty over what goes into it. At its most basic, bread, is just flour, yeast, and water.

      Reply

  6. Posted by Sarah on 04/27/2012 at 22:13

    BTW, home-made Almond Milk is one of the easiest & most delicious (green!) things to make. No chemicals, preservatives, hormones, disposable containers…
    All you need is a good blender (Vitamix is the bomb) & a nut milk bag (or cheesecloth or any fine stainer).
    Soak 1 cup of almonds overnight (minimum of 8 hours, 12 better). Toss the soaking water, add 4 cups of fresh water and blend for a minute You can add a spoonful of honey or agave and a few drops of vanilla if desired. Use only 3 cups of water if you like your milk thicker. Strain & chill. SOOOO good, so easy.

    Reply

  7. I wonder if using stevia would work?

    Reply

    • Probably; it’s the cornstarch that makes it gel, not the sugar. I don’t care for the taste of stevia, but it could be a good option if you are watching your sugar intake.

      Reply

  8. Posted by Jessica on 07/22/2012 at 13:45

    Made this recipe 2 nights in a row..soo good! I made it with truvia, as I am on a special diet that does not allow me to eat refined sugar OR dairy (or grains, but that’s another story). I also added a tiny bit of coconut extract in addition to the vanilla. coconut on the top and yum! Oh – and the 2nd day I made it I added mashed bananas to the pudding and put sliced bananas on top – delicious and totally filling! Thank you!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Wendy on 07/28/2012 at 04:46

    I stumbled across this recipe as I had some almond milk that needed to be used up. Recipe didn’t take long at all and it was so yummy. Definitely going to make it again. Thank you for the recipe.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Ezekiel Dutch on 02/09/2013 at 23:47

    With so many more people developing allergies and sensitivities to dairy products, finding tasty and cheap alternatives to milk can be a challenge. One tasty alternative that can be used in cooking and everyday use is almond milk. But honestly, almond milk can get pricey. Instead try making your own almond milk for a quick and easy project that is fun to do with the kids.,

    Very latest short article from our web blog
    <http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/best-fiber-supplement/

    Reply

  11. […] suggest we use EWG as a resource, but not as a stand alone. Definitely NOT, as Jennifer of It’s Not Easy To Be Green (and I linked to a tasty sounding pudding recipe post, just for fun!) says, “as a […]

    Reply

  12. Posted by Rosemary Miner on 07/22/2013 at 13:42

    Almond milk can get pricey but so is Almonds! Love unsweetened Almond Milk. I cook with it any where regular milk is called for.

    Reply

  13. That is really fascinating, You’re an overly skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to in the hunt for more of your great post.

    Additionally, I have shared your website in my social
    networks

    Reply

  14. I blog quite often and I genuinely appreciate your content.

    The article has truly peaked my interest. I will take a note
    of your site and keep checking for new information
    about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

    Reply

Leave a comment