100 Posts and a Special Giveaway

UPDATE: Random.org drew #18, and after I counted everything up, that turned out to be Small Footprints. Congrats! The bowl is on its way.

There are now over 100 posts in this blog. I’m amazed, too. Oh, not all of them are good. Some of the early ones, the ones when I had started this blog at my boss’s desire for more links for our client, are astoundingly lame. Don’t read them. But I rather like some of the others. If you’ve only recently started to read my blog, you may have missed earlier musings, such as:

Anyway, I want to thank you very much for visiting, reading, and commenting. I never expected to have a readership, and I sincerely appreciate your support and friendship.  In celebration of this landmark, I’ve decided to offer a giveaway. It’s not especially green, though no one was exploited in its making. It is  handmade. In fact, I made it.

A lot of you know I’m a novice potter. I’ve now been at it for about eight months, and I love it so much that I don’t know how I went my whole life without a smooth knob of clay turning under my fingers.

This bowl just came out of the kiln. I made it for you. It’s a simple wheel thrown bowl about 5″ in diameter. Stoneware with matte white glaze, a glossy navy blue rim with some drips and color variations, and a slight flare to the lip. It’s not perfect — my trimming knife skittered a little across the surface, and I could have taken just a little more clay off the bottom — but it’s good. I wouldn’t be offering it if it weren’t. It feels just right in cupped hands and would love to be filled with warm soup, porridge, pretty river rocks, or anything else you want to put in it. It is completely food, microwave, and dishwasher safe, and I will package it lovingly in reused materials and walk it down to the post office for you.

Due to shipping costs, this giveaway is only open to readers in the US and Canada. My apologies.

Want to win it? To enter, you must subscribe to my blog (or be a subscriber) by email, RSS, or reader. Leave a comment telling me which.

Extra entries (leave a separate comment for each)
1. Follow me on Twitter and leave me your Twitter username.
2. If you have previously left a comment on this blog, tell me so in a comment.
3. Add me to your blogroll and leave me a link.

That’s a total of four possible entries. I will choose a winner using Random.org on Tuesday, March 22, at 9pm PST (or thereabouts). Good luck!

24 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by The Environmental Goddess on 03/15/2011 at 09:01

    Hi!
    I’m already a subscriber of your blog: theenvironmentalgoddess@gmail.com
    I just followed you on twitter @EnviroGoddess
    I have also blogrolled you at http://environmentalgoddess.wordpress.com/

    I love your blog, good job, keep on writing!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Gina Berti on 03/15/2011 at 10:31

    okay I’m a subscriber through email and I also added you on through RSS. I know you said only one, buy hey, I’m new at this and I want to cover all my bases!
    I follow you on twitter, I’m @tati22

    Reply

  3. I subscribe via RSS

    Reply

  4. I follow you on twitter @mtbVegan

    Reply

  5. I linked you on my blogroll mtbvegan.com

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sparrow on 03/15/2011 at 11:32

    I’ve been an e-mail subscriber to your blog for several months now. I enjoy it very much.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Sparrow on 03/15/2011 at 11:32

    I just followed you on Twitter. My Twitter name is sparrowrose.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Sparrow on 03/15/2011 at 11:33

    I have left a comment on your blog before, in your post about Christmas parties and presents.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Kwiltnplay Chessie Joy's Mom on 03/15/2011 at 13:12

    I subscribed by email AND I follow you on Twitter @kwiltnplay

    Reply

    • Posted by Kwiltnplay Chessie Joy's Mom on 03/15/2011 at 13:14

      (I know you said separate comments for each entry but one will suffice for me. I just really wanted you to know that I’ve seen your handiwork and it’s gorgeous.)

      Reply

  10. Hi,

    I just started following your blog. The bowl looks sweet, and I can’t wait to get to “know” you here.

    Reply

  11. I’m following you on twitter. My twitter user name is CouplesCooking.

    Reply

  12. Wow ~ Congrats on 100 posts!! I’ve read your earlier posts and I think they were wonderful … and your more recent posts just get better and better. How generous of you to offer one of your lovely bowls. I adore handmade pottery so … please count me in! 🙂 I subscribe to your emails (reducefootprints at gmail dot com)

    Reply

  13. I follow you on Twitter (I’m @smallftprints)
    reducefootprints at gmail dot com

    Reply

  14. I’ve left several comments on your blog! 🙂
    reducefootprints at gmail dot com

    Reply

  15. You are in my blog roll, in my left sidebar here:
    http://reducefootprints.blogspot.com
    reducefootprints at gmail dot com

    Reply

  16. Posted by david on 03/15/2011 at 16:04

    Congrats on the 100 blog milestone.
    I’m subscribed to your blog by e-mail.

    Reply

  17. Posted by david on 03/15/2011 at 16:05

    i also follow you on twitter @GrnThmbnl

    Reply

  18. Posted by david on 03/15/2011 at 16:05

    i have previously left comments (prolly as @froward1 then) 😉

    Reply

  19. Posted by david on 03/15/2011 at 16:20

    and have a link to your blog here: http://greenthumbnail.com/links.html 🙂

    Reply

  20. Posted by shortystylee on 03/15/2011 at 16:30

    1. reader via RSS
    2. just followed! (@shorty_stylee)
    3. I’ve commented a couple times
    4. Blogroll

    Reply

  21. Congrats on 100 posts, what an achievement!
    1. subcribed (long ago)!
    2. just followed (SherryGreens)
    3. commented (lots)!
    4. blogroll (long ago)!

    I have never tried making pottery, but I think I would like it. 🙂

    Reply

  22. Yay! 100 Posts. What an accomplishment! As you know, I LOVE the bowl.
    I subscribe
    I follow on Twitter @groovygreenlivi
    I comment
    I added you long ago to my blogroll because you have a great blog!
    http://groovygreenlivin.com/sites-worth-a-click/

    Reply

  23. Not signing up for the giveaway (although it’s beautiful and I love that it is full of your energy) because I’m in the UK, but couldn’t resist coming to share my congratulation. I LOVE your blog and well done for writing all those fantastic posts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

