Guest post on Reduce Footprints

Good morning! I’m guest blogging on Reduce Footprints today on the idea of what keeps us from being greener. Why haven’t I swapped my car for a bike already? Installed a composting toilet? An armchair greenie investigates her own hesitations to go greener and invites you to do the same. Check it out and let me know what you think! I’ll be replying to comments on both blogs, if you care to leave me any. 

Thanks for letting me harangue to a new audience, Small Footprints.🙂

7 responses to this post.

  1. It is absolutely my pleasure!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Emily on 03/07/2011 at 18:02

    That was a great post. One of my usual green excuses is, “Well, not many many other people are doing this or that to reduce their consumption or tread more lightly. I’m just one person. Why should I bother when everyone else’s actions just negate mine?”

    Reply

    • I hear you on that one, especially on things that require me to go far out of my way or make a drastic change (ahem, composting toilet). When I manage to talk myself out of it, I do it on grounds that 1) it’s symbolic of my interest in being part of the solution, however I can, and 2) it makes me feel like a better person. Of course, the latter can lead to the whole self-righteousness thing…man, I think my blog is aptly titled.🙂

      Reply

  3. My green hang-up is a combination of fatigue and stress. When I’m bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, and in a generally good mood, I’m willing to try new ways to reduce my consumption, etc. But after a long day/week/month when things aren’t going my way, it’s a lot harder.

    Reply

    • Agreed. We only have so much time and energy, and not all of it is going to go towards environmentalism. It’s hard to try anything new or take any chances when you’re, as Tolkien puts it, like too little butter scraped over too much bread.

      Reply

  4. I have written a post about your post and linked. My blog Eco-Crap is relatively new and doesn’t have a wide readership yet, but I think it is an important message to spread.

    AV

    Reply

Leave a Reply

