The inevitable TMI post about menstrual cups

Image

Well, it’s not here. You’ll have to visit Elephant Journal to read it. But I promise you that there’s no hard sell or judgment if you’re grossed out by the idea of cups. Thanks to Emily from Living Lightly in a Wavering World, Lynn from Upcycled Love, Jeanie whose website is in progress, and Lori from Groovy Green Livin for contributing!

9 responses to this post.

  1. I am SUCH a fan of these and as soon as I discovered them I realised how much I’d been duped by that whole industry of over-packaged, bleached, disposable landfill. I could kick myself for supporting them all those years!

    I wrote a post a few weeks ago on something vaguely similar but I didn’t get much feedback on it. (http://readinginthebath.com/2012/03/26/reclaiming-cycles/) I think this kind of thing is still a bit taboo.

    But I’m delighted to see these cups being discussed!

    Reply

    • Hi Olivia,

      Good post! I am generally not on good terms with my uterus, which I consider a massive waste of resources and nutrients (how can I get this thing to close up shop early?), but I guess I should try to think about it more holistically. Honestly, I think I like cups because they allow me to ignore my cycles. :-)

      Sometimes I find it hard to find the right balance between opening up taboo subjects and oversharing.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Andrea on 04/24/2012 at 07:18

    I love how you covered the intro and got other bloggers to describe their experiences, each with a different brand. It’s important for women to know that there are options, because I’d hate to think that some women encounter problems with the first one they try, then give up on the whole idea instead of testing out a new brand.

    Also, I wish our gender were less squeamish about this (yes, it can be icky, but can we at least talk about it?) so that more women could come on board and use cups.

    Reply

    • Thanks, Andrea! The idea for the post came up when I noticed that a lot of the bloggers I knew used different cups (although Diva is, of course, the most popular because of its wide availability). I think you almost have to be willing to try a second cup if the first one doesn’t work out. Trying the first cup gives you a lot of information about fit! The cost does prevent a lot of people from being willing to try more than one cup, I think, but compared to how much we would be spending on disposables, the price of two cups isn’t bad at all.

      I’m pretty sure squeamishness is just a state of mind. The more time I spent on the Menstrual Cups Livejournal site, the less grossed out I was and the less reluctant I was to talk about vaginas and cervixes.

      Reply

  3. Off topic… I, huh, don’t have this problem

    Tag, you’re it! Somehow, I ended up in a game of tag and I’m now tagging you! Here is the link with the rules and the one question I picked out for you to answer…

    http://lifeisbutalabyrinth.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/tuesday-tag/

    AV

    Reply

    • Heh, I was pretty surprised to see your comment on this post, of all posts! I’ll get to your tag sometime soon, end of the month means I need to get busy on all sorts of things I’ve been putting off!

      Reply

  4. [...] mostly now use menstrual cups, which are less messy and lower maintenance than cloth pads, but I still like my mini cloth [...]

    Reply

  5. [...] mostly now use menstrual cups, which are less messy and lower maintenance than cloth pads, but I still like my mini cloth [...]

    Reply

  6. Posted by Di Az on 08/18/2014 at 05:08

    I have discovered the cup form a zen cup (www.azencup.com) and wouldn’t go back to tampon an pads. This brand offers also intimate area gel cleanser, the best I have ever tried!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,819 other followers

