EarthEasy Review and Mushroom Kit Giveaway

Earlier this year, Dana from Eartheasy contacted me about doing a review. I’m often hesitant to promote companies or products on this blog, which is generally about consuming less, but she made me an offer I couldn’t refuse: a grow-your-own mushroom kit from Back to the Roots. I’d heard of Back to the Roots before and liked what I knew of them: a small Oakland, CA company that takes waste coffee grounds from Peet’s Coffee, innoculates them with oyster mushroom spores, and sells them as kits to curious suburbanites like me.

I checked out Eartheasy, too. It’s a family owned online store that sells a variety of tools for more sustainable living: low flow shower heads, compost bins, non-toxic pest control aids. Nothing too fluffy or frivolous here. Their goal is ‘to encourage, inspire and inform people about the benefits of a simpler, less material lifestyle, and the importance of protecting our natural environment as the source of our well-being.’  Eartheasy also contains lots of free guides on gardening, composting, energy efficiency, and independent living. My trigger-happy greenwashing alarm never went off.

Dana was friendly and quick to answer my questions, and the mushroom kit arrived quickly with minimal packaging. The kit itself is a cardboard box with a plastic bag sealed with a peculiar-looking white/orange mushroom culture. It comes with a little spray bottle to mist the culture. Instructions for growing the mushrooms are incredibly simple: cut a cross in the plastic bag, soak for a day, mist twice a day. (Or more, if you live in a dry climate.) Watching them grow is so much fun. Once the tiny little pinhead mushrooms have started to come up, they grow visibly every couple hours. Go to bed, and they will be an inch bigger in the morning.

They go from this...

...to this (24 hours later)

They were delicious stir-fried and on top of pizza. Storebought oyster mushrooms tend toward the flaccid. These were very crisp and dense. And when you’ve harvested all your mushrooms, you can soak the bag again, turn it around, and grow a second harvest.

How green is this mushroom kit? It reuses waste materials and produces food. No, it’s not a necessary item, but I think being able to observe science up close and personal is worth something, especially for kids.

Eartheasy has generously offered to host a giveaway for a mushroom kit for one of my readers. You can do any one entry or all of them to improve your odds. Please leave all entries in one comment. 

  1. Subscribe to my blog. You can subscribe via WordPress, Feedburner, or email. Tell me which.
  2. Like Eartheasy on Facebook
  3. Follow Eartheasy on Twitter
  4. Sign up for Eartheasy’s monthly newsletter (scroll down to the bottom of the page)
  5. (NEW entry) Share this giveaway on Twitter or FB: something like “Win a free mushroom kit from @eartheasy and @noteasy2begreen! #giveaway”

Good luck! Contest ends Monday, April 9 and is open to US residents only.

Disclaimer: I was given a free mushroom kit by Eartheasy in return for this review. My opinions are my own.

20 responses to this post.

  1. I did all four! I was already subscribed to your blog via email (possible also via wordpress, can’t remember) I liked Eartheasy on Facebook, followed them on Twitter, and signed up for their newsletter.

    I LOVE that they sell diatomaceous earth. That’s one of my favorites and something I’m always turning friends on to when they say they’re having a problem with ants or spiders or cockroaches or millipedes in their house. I first used diatomaceous earth to conquer a flea infestation and I SWEAR by it now.

    Reply

  2. Posted by ecokaren on 03/26/2012 at 10:53

    OK, I tweeted, share it on my profile, shared it on my page, ‘liked’ EarthEasy, and I’ve signed up for your newsletter with a different e-mail address that’s NOT connected to WP. So did I better my chances??? LOL>

    Reply

  3. Posted by bitt on 03/26/2012 at 12:31

    subscribed on google reader

    Reply

  4. Posted by bitt on 03/26/2012 at 12:32

    follow eartheasy on twitter @cherrycobbler

    Reply

  5. Posted by bitt on 03/26/2012 at 12:33

    tweeted @cherrycobbler

    Reply

  6. Posted by Jessica C on 03/26/2012 at 13:55

    I subscribes to your blog via email.
    I like Eartheasy on Facebook
    I follow Eartheasy on Twitter (gr8tfuldayz)
    I signed up for Eartheasy’s monthly newsletter
    I tweeted the giveaway: #giveaway”https://twitter.com/#!/Gr8tfulDayz/status/184382608132677633

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kristin G on 03/26/2012 at 14:00

    Subscribed to your blog via email, already liked Eartheasy on Facebook and signed up for your newsletter….

    Reply

  8. I subscribe via email.

    Maggie Ann True Armstrong
    maggie(at)pdclarion(dot)com

    Reply

  9. I like Eartheasy on Facebook
    .
    Maggie Ann True Armstrong
    maggie(at)pdclarion(dot)com

    Reply

  10. I follow Eartheasy on Twitter. @couponluvr83

    Maggie Ann True Armstrong
    maggie(at)pdclarion(dot)com

    Reply

  11. I tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/CouponLuvr83/status/184465798151155712

    Maggie Ann True Armstrong
    maggie(at)pdclarion(dot)com

    Reply

  12. I liked EarthEasy on Facebook and am subscribed here. :)

    Reply

  13. Posted by seitei on 03/28/2012 at 08:34

    I have been a long-time subscriber and could subscribe under a different email address, but that feels like cheating.

    I like mushrooms. and I like EarthEasy.

    Plus, I have been a champion of your blog amongst my humble circle of green and un-green contacts. Does that count for anything?

    Reply

  14. Posted by lastdaysofpompeii on 03/28/2012 at 14:46

    This is great timing for me to find EarthEasy, as I’m interested in growing vegetables this year.

    I subscribed via RSS to It’s Not Easy Being Green- butterflyrouge(at)yahoo(dot)com
    Followed on Twitter- @butterflyrouge
    Tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/butterflyrouge/status/185118617283735552
    Subscribed via email to EarthEasy- butterflyrouge(at)yahoo(dot)com
    Liked on FB- M.J.Moore

    Reply

  15. Hello there,
    I enjoyed reading this post. I’m already a subscriber and I already grow my own mushrooms so I don’t need a kit. Growing our own food and/or bartering for what we need is one of the most wonderful things about living where I do.

    Reply

  16. Hi Jennifer. Please add me to the giveaway. I am already a subscriber to your blog and I “liked” EarthEasy on Facebook.

    Reply

  17. I’m subscribed via RSS! I love mushrooms :)

    Reply

  18. Posted by Gina Berti on 04/06/2012 at 08:19

    Ok I’ve done #’s 1,3 and 5. I LOVE mushrooms!!!! :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,820 other followers

